Canadiens de Montreal

Touch Icing

28 members have voted

1. 1. What Should the NHL Do About Icing

• Keep It The Same
    • Go No-Touch
    • Hybrid Solution

Guest Wayne
Mr. Baketball Betthead will not bring this issue to a head (no pun intended) UNTIL someone is killed or crippled.
far be it from me to let facts get in the way of your oh so mature and intelligent comment, but the Commissioner doesn't set the playing rules of the NHL... that's done by the Competition Committee, of which the Commissioner is NOT a member...

I've been campaining to go with the no-touch icing for a few years now, and I think that the league needs to take it's head out of the sand and change it.

I was watching TSN last night and discovered something that explains why it hasn't been changed yet... They phone every GM and got responses from 28 of them to which they asked which way they would vote. 18 voted in favour of keeping the rule as is, 8 were in favour of going with the no-touch icing and one (who used to want to keep the rule as is) is now undecided. As we all know, GMs are the ones voting on rule changes so... Worse, they were bringing up this rule every year and had decided at the last annual meeting not to bring it up again for 3 years!

On the other hand, a majority of the players interviewed were in favour of changing the rule to the no-touch icing. TSN had a poll yesterday and 72% of the fans wanted that rule changed. My question to the league and GMs would be: why such a minority gets to decide what's good for the game and why not consult the players and/or the fans?

EDIT: A moderator should add a poll to this thread to find out which way the members here would be voting...

Guest Dintrox12