The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens
Canadiens de Montreal

Canadian Seal Hunt

Guest habs fan #1

I was wondering how many members on this forum has heard Stories about our East Coast Seal Hunt and would like to get Members views on our hunt. Newfoundlanders, Cape Bretoners, and the Quebecers from Iles de Magdeline and the South shore all take too the Ice floes to try and earn a living to support their families and I want too see how many members have been misinformed about our hunt. The HSUS and other groups portray our hunt as Barbaric and unhumane and that we kill whitecoats. Fact is the Last whitecoat killed by a sealer was in the early 80's and hasn't happened since. If all members could just give their thoughts or stories of how maybe they have been misinformed I would like to hear because although I am a Heavy Equipment Operator I used to be a Captain and still Skippers a vessel for Fisherman who are not fortunate enough to have another means of earning a living.

Thank You

Newfoundland Sealer

Guest Iceman1509

If they weren't cute, no one would care. I find it especially odd that people are bothered more by our seal hunt then by the millions of cattle and pigs that are slaughtered each year and sold in stores.

"The killing of innocent animals is wrong and I'm going to do something about it as soon as I am done my Wendy's Baconator"

Oh btw, I am not against eating meat, just hipocrites.

Guest nsminc

Of course I wouldn't like watching seals getting clubbed but people come first.

From what I understand the seal hunt is brings in about 17 million dollars.So maybe BILLIONAIRE Paul McCartney

could set aside roughly half a billion then the interest that's being collected could go to the sealers and thus end the hunt.

Anyways that's just me.

Guest LarryRobinson