The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens
Canadiens de Montreal

Habs Interested In Gaborik?

pagos86

According to Marty York of Metro News, the Minnesota Wild have reached an "impasse" in contract negotiations with forward Marian Gaborik, and are entertaining offers for the Slovakian star. The Vancouver Canucks, Ottawa Senators, Toronto Maple Leafs, Montreal Canadiens, Pittsburgh Penguins, New York Rangers and Los Angeles Kings are reportedly interested. Brochu's take: Gaborik won't be traded yet, and only if the Wild are out of the running for the playoffs by trade deadline day. Source

http://brochuishockey.blogspot.com/2008/10...oct-9-2008.html

Umm, he signed up to make one post and was on the forum for less than 5 minutes and he included absolutely nothing personal or opinionated in his post. He just wants people to visit the link, which is why I didn't bother to do so and won't bother discussing in this thread. We are already talking about it in the GM thread for anyone interested. This is probably an Ekhlund type blogger who just wants attention. :P

Gaborik is fairly stifled in Minnesota's defensive system. I doubt he wants to stay even if they do offer him enough.

I believe it is bit of a misnomer that Minny has stifled his production, and that we play an offensive, run and gun type of game.

Alot of Gaborik's numbers are a direct result of Minny's system, and he will have to pay attention to the defensive end of the game playing for Carbo as well. I will grant that there is a bit more freedom on the forwards in our system, but there don't think he will not be held accountable for the fine details of the game.

It is all about transition and counter attack. And Gaborik would look wonderful when our D looks to fly the zone.

I would not be surprised if Bob was interested in Gaborik, he should be.

Does that mean anything will get done....my guess is not.

I'm sure there's some interest from Bob, I'm not sure exactly how much.