The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens
Canadiens de Montreal

College Football

DA_Champion

I live in Columbus Ohio, home of the buckeyes.

I was in the area but no I watched it on TV.

The game was a disgrace. We lost 18-15, but if not for the missed field goal and giveaway safety we would have lost 21-13 which I think is more representative.

When there were 3 minutes left, the buckeyes were at 4th down and 40 yards from the touchdown, the coach had them kick the ball to have USC start at 20, rather than go for it and risk USC starting at 40. I knew right then the game was lost. I admit I'm not a football expert but I think the coach is too conservative.

I can't judge the game very well being a n00b.

- I thought our defense played badly just from watching, but we did limit USC to 18 points whereas they usually get 40-50, which means there's a lot I didn't understand, and they probably did in fact do well.

- I also think Terrel Pryor's skill is disproportionate to the rest of the offense, he's simply a much better player, and I interpreted a lot of what he did as him being tired of incompetence and trying to do everything himself.

- It seems the USC team was just bigger and stronger. Whenever they;re having that thing at the line of scrimmage where they just push against each other for a yard or two, it seems like they won every time.

I don't think OSU is a championship team right now. I guess they have a good defense, and I think their QB is elite. If they can develop or recruit a good running back or wide receiver they might be able to compete next year. Last year they lost all their best players except Pryor to the NFL draft, which means this is a young team. He does need to develop his thinking. It seems he passes it to rushers, and he rushes it himself. I don't see him throw long passes. Maybe it's him, maybe it's the wide receives. Either way you need a few long passes a game or you'll rarely beat a good team.