Jump to content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens
Canadiens de Montreal

2013 Hockey Hall Of Fame Inductees

Recommended Posts

From TSN:

Chris Chelios, Scott Niedermayer, Brendan Shanahan, Geraldine Heaney and Fred Shero will become the newest members of the Hockey Hall of Fame in November.

Niedermayer scored 172 goals and 568 assists in 1,263 career NHL games and 22 goals and 73 assists in 202 career playoff games. He also appeared in five NHL All-Star Games.

Niedermayer's induction comes as little surprise as one of the most decorated players of his era. He is a four-time Stanley Cup winner and a two-time Olympic champion on top of having won World Junior gold, an IIHF World Hockey Championship, a World Cup of Hockey and a Memorial Cup.

The former Devils and Ducks bleuliner has pages worth of hardware to pad his resume, including the Norris Trophy, the Conn Smythe Trophy, three First Team All-Star selections and one Second Team selection.

Niedermayer scored 172 goals and 568 assists in 1,263 career NHL games and 22 goals and 73 assists in 202 career playoff games. He also appeared in five NHL All-Star Games.

Chelios suited up in 1,651 career games with the Montreal Canadiens, Chicago Blackhawks, Detroit Red Wings and Atlanta Thrashers. A three-time Stanley Cup champion and Norris Trophy winner, the Chicago native was a dominant force in his prime and a model of longevity.

Over 26 NHL seasons, he scored 185 career goals and 763 assists while adding 31 goals and 113 assists in 266 career playoff games.

He represented the United States at three Olympic Games, winning a silver medal in 2002 and also took part in two Canada Cups and the 1996 World Cup of Hockey. He was named to the First All-Star Team five times, was twice named a Second Team All-Star and played in nine NHL All-Star Games.

Shanahan scored 656 career goals and 698 assists in 1,524 games with the New Jersey Devils, St. Louis Blues, Hartford Whalers, Detroit Red Wings and New York Rangers.

He was twice named to the NHL's First All-Star Team and played in eight NHL All-Star Games. In 2003, he won the King Clancy Memorial Trophy for on-ice leadership and off-ice humanitarian contribution.

Shanahan represented Canada on a number of occasions, including winning the Olympic gold medal-winning team in 2002, the 1991 Canada Cup and the 1994 IIHF World Championship. He was also a member of Canada's 1987 World Junior team.

Heaney represented Canada's national women's hockey team on numerous occasions between 1990 and 2002. Over that span, she's won a combined seven IIHF World Women's Championship gold medals and Olympic gold and silver medals.

She was named best blueliner at the 1992 and 1994 World Championships and was inducted into the IIHF Hall of Fame in 2008 alongside fellow Hockey Hall of Famers Angela James and Cammie Granato.

Heaney remains the all-time leading scorer amongst defenders in women's hockey, scoring 27 goals and 66 assists in 125 career games. She announced her retirement from hockey after winning gold at the Salt Lake City Olympics in 2002.

Shero led the 'Broad Street Bullies' of the 1970s to their only two Stanley Cup victories and coached in two other Stanley Cup Finals with the Flyers in 1976 and the Rangers in 1979.

He won the 1974 Jack Adams Award as coach of the year and the Lester Patrick Award in 1980 for contributions to hockey in the United States. He posted a regular season career winning percentage of .612.

Shero - the father of Pittsburgh Penguins general manager Ray Shero - will be inducted posthumously, having passed away in 1990."

And again Pat Burns gets the shaft. :angry::angry:

Snyder lobbied for Shero,,, whereas, Lamoriello didn't lobby for Burns.

I have no problem with the choices of players, but for Burns to get shut out yet again, ,,,that just makes me mad.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In an article from The Hockey News:

"To celebrate the achievements of Shero by enshrining him in the Hall and not Pat Burns might seem unfair, but remember that Shero has been gone for more than two decades now. The Hall can induct two people in the builders’ category in any given year, provided there are no nominees in the referee/linesmen category, so it would have been wonderful to see both Shero and Burns entering the Hall of Fame on the same day. But the selection committee didn’t see it that way and that’s where there’s something wrong.

If the Hall of Fame selection committee does not see Burns as a worthy member of the Hall of Fame, it should most certainly not vote to induct him. To do that, even as a gesture to someone who has passed, would not be right. But if it indeed does feel that way, there should be transparency into the nomination and voting process. But there is not. A person’s legacy is left up to a group of 18 men who answer and are accountable to no one. They do not discuss their votes or why they chose not to elect any candidate."

What went wrong, selection committee?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Chelios is the 45th Canadiens player to be inducted into the Hall, the first since Patrick Roy and Dick Duff were called in 2006. The Habs also have 10 builders in hockey’s temple.

Chelios began his career in Montreal in 1983-84 at the age of 24 and was a member of the 1986 Stanley Cup champions. He would win two more Cups, with Detroit, and finally retire as a member of the Atlanta Thrashers at the age of 48 in 2009-10, having played 1,651 regular-season games.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

This topic is now closed to further replies.
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...